States across the country have been enacting laws to stop motorists from using their phones. New York is no different as they have passed their own laws to limit accidents caused by inattentive driving.

These new laws are fairly harsh and may be due to the number of unfocused drivers. There were over 205,000 tickets handed out related to texting or cellphone use while driving.

Consequences of phone use while driving

New York has some of the strictest law surrounding cell phone use while operating a motor vehicle. Currently, there is a complete ban on hand-held phones and texting. If you are caught using your phone while driving, you might face the following consequences:

  • First offense: You could face fines ranging from $50 to $200 for your first violation.
  • Second offense: If you use your phone without hands-free technology again within 18 months you could face fines up to $250.
  • Third offense: If you commit a third violation in the same 18-month period, you might be fined up to $450.

If you have your learner’s permit, you could face harsher penalties. For your first offense you might have your license suspended for 120 days. If you disobey the law twice in a six-month period, your license may be rescinded for a year.

New York’s distracted driving fatality rate

New York’s efforts to fight against preoccupied motorists has helped immensely. With their complete ban on hand-held phone use and texting, their fatality rate from distracted driving has dropped to the fifth lowest in the country.

Distracted driving can occur in many different ways. Speak with a lawyer to learn more about the allegations brought against you. Your attorney might also have legal options in mind for your defense.